Basketball Referee

Basketball Referee

Rndballref

20 Years Experience

Chicago, IL

Male, 60

For twenty years I officiated high school, AAU and park district basketball games, retiring recently. For a few officiating is the focus of their occupation, while for most working as an umpire or basketball referee is an avocation. I started ref'ing to earn beer money during college, but it became a great way to stay connected to the best sports game in the universe. As a spinoff, I wrote a sports-thriller novel loosely based on my referee experiences titled, Advantage Disadvantage

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

651 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on September 20, 2019

Best Rated

Player gets called for a foul which results in a spot throw in. Two technical fouls are then called when the ball is dead one on each team. Would the ball be then put in play at POI or do you go to the possession arrow?

Asked by DW24 over 9 years ago

The technical fouls offset and we go to the possession arrow for a throw in at half court.

When I refereed in the 1980s, we were taught that a held ball occurs when neither player has control of the ball, but both are trying to get possession. Recently a ref told me its when BOTH have possession? Both of us can't be right?

Asked by rvi777 over 10 years ago

Here is the definition of "held ball" in the rule book: 

A held ball occurs when 1…opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without due roughness, or 2…an opponent places his/her hands on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.

In the first instance, control cannot be obtained. In the second instance the offensive player starts with control but then loses the ability (i.e.. control) to pass or shoot. So I think you are splitting hairs - each of you are right and wrong in definition 1 vs 2.

When does an assist begin & end. ex. If a player inbounds the ball to another player & the second player dribbles down court & scores does the first player still get an assist?

Asked by Jim about 10 years ago

This is a tough question. There was a Wall Street Journal article which addressed the grey areas of what an assist is. Here is a quote from that article:

"The NBA statistician's manual says an assist should be "credited to a player tossing the last pass leading directly to a field goal, only if the player scoring the goal responds by demonstrating immediate reaction to the basket." It sounds simple enough. As assist is a pass made to a shooter who scores. But when you try to apply this definition during a game, it gets murky. There are no details about how many steps shooters can take after receiving a pass; nothing about shot-fakes, head-fakes or pivot moves and no hard guidelines on how much time can elapse between the pass and the shot.

Thank you for the response about me sending you a video to review. My email address is djmikeemike@gmail.com

Asked by Mikegabe almost 10 years ago

ok

does arrow on change of possesion change if team doesn't get ball inbounds?

Asked by Jeff over 9 years ago

yes, the arrow changes once the ball it at the disposal of the throw in player.

My question is, if a team player steals the ball from the other team, try's to bring to his basket and misses the basket and buzzer goes off, can a referee extend time of 4 10ths of a second because she said the other team fouled the player?

Asked by Antonietta over 9 years ago

No. The officials cannot extend time. The only adjustment that officials can make is if they have specific knowledge of a clock discrepancy. For example, if a referee grants a timeout but notices that the clock ran some time after the whistle was blown.

Can you explain how a charging violation is determined when player A leaves his feet for a shot attempt and lands on player B before touching the ground. Is this a charge? Does it matter if the defense if moving? Thanks.

Asked by PJohnston - Chicago over 10 years ago

The defender must legally obtain the vertical space BEFORE the offensive player alights for a shot. So, if player B legally obtains a place on the floor and Player A crashes into him while coming down from a shot, player control foul on A.

The defensive player can be moving, but the rulebook says he must be moving obliquely, which means the defender cannot move directly into the path of the offensive player. For example a player who is backpedaling and is run over by the offensive player would draw a player control foul on the dribbler. You can also move sideways and backwards as a defender and still draw a charge.